strangeanimal: (Default)
[personal profile] strangeanimal
... did I mention I'm learning to drive a stickshift?

yeah, i'll admit it right off the bat here... I've gone 31-1/2 years without getting a drivers' license. you have to remember, I grew up smack in the middle of Montreal, a city with a very good transit system (especially around where I was)... I could get virtually anywhere fairly easily by bus, metro or train.

that, and I always lived close to school or work... in my whole time in Montreal, I had only one job that I couldn't have conceivably walked to. and I biked there twice just to see how long it would take. (90 minutes.)

that, and Quebec is a ridiculously expensive place to drive... insurance and license fees are obscenely expensive, even more so when you're in the middle of the city.

so... I never bothered to get a license. 'til now... living out here in the sticks will do that to you. ;)

driving stick isn't that bad (said by someone whose top speed when trying it yesterday was 12mph in a parking lot)... I didn't hit anything, and the gears didn't make that crunchy sound. more practice to come soon.

and some of you may want to avoid the sidewalks for a while. just in case you see me behind the wheel. ;)

Date: 2003-03-17 09:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bostondave.livejournal.com
Oh thats just great! laughs

Learn to drive stick on a parking lot at night. One of my friend's lent me her vehicle to learn one night and it didn't quite work. Needless to say I'll stick to automatics for now...

Re:

Date: 2003-03-17 09:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] strangeanimal.livejournal.com
oh, I'm sticking to parking lots until I'm positive that I won't kill anyone in real traffic!

Date: 2003-03-17 10:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bostondave.livejournal.com
I'm glad to hear it. ;-)

Date: 2003-03-17 01:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mindme.livejournal.com
Stick can be a bitch at first. You have to get over that initial "god I'm really giving it too much gas" sense when you put it into first. Stick is great for good pick up, good traction in rain/snow. Stick is a bit of a bitch, however, in stop n go traffic.

Re:

Date: 2003-03-17 01:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] strangeanimal.livejournal.com
oh, I'm quite aware of that "I'm giving it too much gas" feeling... it's amazing how you can do a jackrabbit start at about 10mph...

Profile

strangeanimal: (Default)
strangeanimal

February 2009

S M T W T F S
12345 67
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 22nd, 2026 08:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios