strangeanimal: (greg)
[personal profile] strangeanimal
... this LJ entry is brought to you by the letter 'i'. as in idjits. 'cuz the world seems to be throwing them at me!

... firstly, we have the people who call my place with a wrong number, get my voice mail... and leave a message. you would think, that if you're looking for John Smith, and if you hear a message that says that someone who is clearly not John Smith is not home, you'd realize that maybe you had the wrong number.

but, seeing as these people are clearly not bright, they must assume that John Smith has just changed names and voices. or that i could forward him his calls, if i knew who the hell he was.

the most frequent instances involve people looking for a woman who appears to be of Greek persuasion. these people leave messages on my voice mail, even though i am neither Greek nor female. i get tempted to call them back explaining that she has run off to join the circus, but that's just me.

oddly enough, the person who lived here immediately before me? stopped getting calls for him about two weeks after he moved. he, and his people, are apparently not idiots.

... other idiots: the Revenue Minister of Quebec. i got my provincial tax return today, and it was 30 bucks less than my tax dude had calculated.

they attached a breakdown of how my return was calculated, which included this whopper... there are two ways to calculate your basic deduction, simplified and regular. simplified means you have a higher basic deduction that assumes average amounts for stuff like pension contributions, etc, and you don't have to enter them.

regular means you enter these amounts as normal. my tax dude figures out my return both ways and files whichever one gets me more moolah... in my case, it was the regular.

soooooo, when i get my return, it explains that since my situation qualified for the simplified plan, it was "to my advantage" for them to calculate my return with it.

except... i got thirty bucks LESS that way!!! i'd love to know how that is to my advantage... did they not want me to spend 30$ on something frivolous? would a 30$ dinner be too rich for my stomach? would [livejournal.com profile] rdcf not appreciate a 30$ present??

needles to say, i'll be calling the handy 1-800 number on the breakdown sheet... i figure after 2 or 3 hours on hold, i'll get some bored civil servant to explain to me exactly what they were smoking.

perhaps there's an actual reason they're off by 30$... either that, or i get a check for 30$. either way, hilarity will no doubt abound.

yep.

Date: 2002-05-01 09:06 am (UTC)
viridescence13: (scarybad)
From: [personal profile] viridescence13
I keep getting calls and messages for the Romeros. Mr. or Mrs. Romero, or just Jesse Romero. Sometimes it's obviously a telemarketer, and sometimes it's someone who only speaks Spanish. It is most annoying. Granted my voice mail doesn't have my voice on it, but still. You'd think that it was stop eventually, but we've lived here for going on a year and it happens at least twice a month.

Profile

strangeanimal: (Default)
strangeanimal

February 2009

S M T W T F S
12345 67
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 22nd, 2026 08:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios